Krista Entertainment

thoughts and actions in the daily life of a performer…but it's mostly about food :)

A wonderful surprise this morning! September 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristaoutsidethemusic @ 4:31 pm
Tags: , ,

Hi friends!

I have a ton of things to tell you!  I’ll try to recap the last couple days craziness quickly so I can tell you about today!

I went to the gym on Monday and ran 7 miles in an hour and then took a Pilates class afterward.  Yup.  Never doing that again.  Even though it was a level one Pilates class, my legs were screaming at me after running that long.  Plus, I didn’t bring a snack or anything to eat in between so I was fighting the urge to pass out on the way home.  Do not follow after my example people!  I was a bad example on Monday.  AND!  While were doing this ab exercise we were squeezing this tiny ball with our arms.  I was doing this thinking “this is so dumb.  This tiny ball is a waste of time, I don’t even know what it supposed to be working”….HOLY GEEZ!!! My intercostal muscles are considering quitting today (and yesterday).  So, I’m sorry Pilates instructor lady for thinking your exercise was lame.

Yesterday, My friend Steph came over and we tried food I’d never had before!  We sauteed zucchini and yellow squash while we roasted roma tomatoes and eggplant.  I really enjoyed the zucchini and squash except we sauteed it in butter and not my fake water/soybean oil kind and my stomach did not like that.  I spent yet another night completely nauseas. I haven’t had butter in a month so I don’t know why I thought it would be a good idea to cook with so much of it.  Except that I didn’t want to subject Steph to my butter if she didn’t want it.  See how nice I am? :)  We put different spices on the eggplant but I don’t think we did it right.  I think we sliced it too thick and should have taken the skin off.  It tasted ok and I would definitely try it again, but maybe in ratatouille.  The tomatoes were good too!  I wanted to put parmesan on them but we didn’t have any. :(  Also, we made homemade almond milk.  I found the recipe on choosingraw.com.  It was actually really easy!  It’s 1 part almonds (soaked for about 8 hours-I soaked mine for 24) and 4 parts water.  You can add vanilla or anything else you want.  You stick it in the blender and it just turned into milk!  I was so impressed, it happened so fast and looked like milk.  For some reason I didn’t think it would work.  After we strained it through cheese cloth to clear out the almond pulp, we tried it.

It was awful!!!

You know that chemical taste I keep talking about when drinking soy or almond milk?  Yeah, it’s not chemicals, it’s just the way a liquid nut tastes I guess.  Then we conducted taste tests with different cups, adding sugar and vanilla to the different cups.  They both made it better but it was still not good.  I think I’m gonna stick with cow milk for the .01% of the time I want milk. (Read: with cookies).

SOOOOO that brings us to today.  This morning I tried a recipe I found on chocolatecoveredkatie.com The recipe is Brownie Batter Pancakes.  SO yummy! Take a look. This is one serving!  Here is Katie’s recipe! I modified it a bit so I’m writing mine out.

2 oz flour (I used whole wheat)

1 pkg Chocolate wheat grass (8 gram pkg)

1 tsp Cacao Bliss

1 tsp Hershey’s Cocoa Powder

1/4 banana mashed (approx 1 1/4 oz)

1/4 C water

1/8 tsp salt

pinch of baking powder

1 Tbsp chocolate chips

Sugar to taste (I used about 2 tbsp)

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl, and wet ingredients in a separate bowl. (I used a whisk to get the mashed banana really thin and mixed with the water).  Combine all ingredients and cook your pancakes!  Check out the stats!

All 9 little pancakes are one serving (this does not include the sugar stats bc mine is in a canister and not a bag)

258.7 Calories

69.7 from fat

5 grams of Fiber

6 grams of protein

Plus the stats of the wheat grass! I couldn’t figure out how to add it in here.  Wheat Grass Stats.

Not too shabby for breakfast! I love that there are fruits and veggies in my pancakes courtesy of the wheat grass! And they were delicious!  I put powdered sugar on them but they would be awesome with more mashed banana or peanut butter or even maple syrup on top!

SURPRISE TIME!!!  While I was making my awesome breakfast, my package arrived from Walden Farms!  They make salad dressings, jams, syrups (chocolate, carmel, etc), spreads, peanut butter, mayonnaise, veggie dips, ketchup, sauces (bbq, shrimp, etc) that are all…get ready for it.

Calorie free, sugar free, carb free, gluten free and fat free.

It’s that amazing? They have to be made of air or something!  (I know the first ingredient in them is triple filtered water but I’ll post the ingredients as I try them.) Alyssa did a post about them about a week ago and I went right over to their site and ordered a few things.  I’m super pumped to try them!  I started opening and tasting them while I was cooking but I didn’t want my mouth to be all weird for when I had my chocolaty goodness.  I’ll state my opinions as I eat them on things but what I thought so far: the Caesar dressing is yummy, the chipotle ranch dressing is AWESOME and has quite a kick to it, and the peanut butter is a little different but I’m interested to try it with bananas.  Check out my new yums!

That’s Mayo, Chipotle Ranch Dressing, Alfredo sauce, Caesar Dressing, French Onion dip, Whipped Peanut spread. They were $5 each but I found a coupon online for buy 3 get 3 free so it was an awesome deal! Go check them out!

OK, now I have to go be productive and get some apartment stuff done. Casey has planned a surprise date tonight so I only have a few hours to unpack since I work the next 2 days.  I don’t know where we are going tonight but I’m stoked!

Alright friends, thanks for reading!  Do you have any secret sauces or powders that aren’t sold in most stores? Share them!

Love!

Krista

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.